About us

The Department of Computer Science in the School of Computation, Information and Technology at the Technical University of Munich (TUM) is one of the largest teaching and research institutions for Informatics in Germany. We have scientists working on exciting, cutting-edge topics, including augmented reality and supercomputing. We combine discipline-specific approaches and methods with those of other disciplines. As a result, our state-of-the-art laboratories produce exhilarating results and intelligent applications that translate into real progress.

Research and teaching are deliberately closely intertwined. Our students receive an excellent education: In worldwide university rankings, Computer Science at the Technical University of Munich is consistently among the top in Germany.

The rapid transfer of knowledge and close cooperation with local businesses are important to us. In numerous projects, our research groups work together with IT companies and application sectors, such as the automotive and service industries, as well as medical technology. Technology transfer based on the fundamental research of the TUM Department of Computer Science has resulted in the launch of renowned start-ups in the Munich area.

Department Head



Alfons Kemper, Prof. Dr.

Technische Universität München

Informatik 3 - Lehrstuhl für Datenbanksysteme (Prof. Kemper)

Postadresse

Postal:
Boltzmannstr. 3
85748 Garching b. München

Dienstort

Informatik 3 - Lehrstuhl für Datenbanksysteme (Prof. Kemper)

Work:
Boltzmannstr. 3(5611)/II
85748 Garching b. München

Über uns

Das Department of Computer Science der School of Computation, Information and Technology der Technischen Universität München (TUM) ist eine der größten Lehr- und Forschungseinrichtungen für Informatik in Deutschland. Bei uns forschen Wissenschaftler*innen an hochaktuellen, spannenden Themen, etwa aus dem Gebiet der Augmented Reality oder dem Höchstleistungsrechnen. Eigene Denkansätze und Methoden verknüpfen wir mit denen anderer Fachgebiete. In modernsten Laboren entstehen so aufregende Ergebnisse und intelligente Anwendungen, die echten Fortschritt bedeuten.

Forschung und Lehre sind bewusst eng verzahnt. Unsere Studierenden erhalten eine exzellente Ausbildung: In weltweiten Hochschulrankings ist Computer Science an der Technischen Universität München deutschlandweit immer ganz vorne mit dabei.

Der schnelle Wissenstransfer und die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit ansässigen Unternehmen sind uns ein wichtiges Anliegen. Unsere Forschungsgruppen kooperieren in zahlreichen Projektarbeiten mit Unternehmen aus dem IT-Umfeld und Anwendungsbranchen wie der Automobilindustrie, Medizintechnik und dem Dienstleistungssektor. Namhafte Start-ups haben sich durch den Technologietransfer aus der Grundlagenforschung der Informatik der TUM heraus im Münchener Umfeld gegründet.

Department Head



Alfons Kemper, Prof. Dr.

Technische Universität München

Informatik 3 - Lehrstuhl für Datenbanksysteme (Prof. Kemper)

Postadresse

Postal:
Boltzmannstr. 3
85748 Garching b. München

Dienstort

Informatik 3 - Lehrstuhl für Datenbanksysteme (Prof. Kemper)

Work:
Boltzmannstr. 3(5611)/II
85748 Garching b. München